Testimonials

The testimonials shown below are a selection of our most recent reviews published via the independent website, VouchedFor.

To find out more about our price promise and to see what our clients say about us, click here to visit our Youtube channel. 

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

My son inherited a trust value on the death of his father.

How did Stephen help you?

He fully explained risk and benefits of a range of services and products, and ensured we were fully informed when making decisions.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes. Investment has returned an average of 6% annually, resulting in a portfolio balance over 10 years increasing by about 70%

What could they have done better?

Nothing. He is pleasant, flexible and knowledgeable

TYNE & WEAR - NOVEMBER 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Stephen handled the pension scheme for one of the companies I worked for, I met him through that for advice and I was impressed with the advice he gave me. I have used his financial services company ever since.

How did Stephen help you?

Good advice. He also manages my pension fund to grow steadily year on year.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes, especially in the current financial climate.

What could they have done better?

Nothing really.

NORTHUMBERLAND - NOVEMBER 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Had savings and investments scattered all over the place, various amounts and companies. Needed advice as to how to consolidate my hard earned cash to keep pace with inflation and to keep the tax man at bay.Protection for my family in the event of my demise.

How did Stephen help you?

Stephen took a great amount of time to carry out all of the above and explain to me in simple terms that could be easily understood.He took care that I would be financially comfortable in the future and not over extend myself.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes, kept informed on a regular basis along with an annual review so that every thing is kept on track.

What could they have done better?

I can't think of anything off hand. I have complete trust in him and the company, he is very east to deal with and down to earth.

TYNE & WEAR - NOVEMBER 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Inheritance from my parents.

How did Steven help you?

Very professional, clear, sound information, easy to talk to, supportive, friendly, trustworthy, long term financial advice relationship.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes, very much so.

What could they have done better?

I can’t really think of anything that could have been better. Annual reviews have always been very useful and communication in between there when I needed it.

TYNE & WEAR - NOVEMBER 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Due to retirement I wished to review my future finance

How did Stephen help you?

He advised me with consideration for finance planning for my future and very good advise

that has helped me over the years since retirement

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes I have and exceeded my expectations

What could they have done better?

Nothing to add

West Yorkshire - June 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Originally we were left some money by relatives

How did Stephen help you?

We were customers of a previous company who transferred business to Stephen many many

years ago. The transition to him taking over was seamless, and the first time of meeting he

was up to date on all our wants and needs, and knew exactly how our investments were

performing. This has continued, with regular reviews and advice.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes, and more! Advice is sound and investments were constantly being monitored, advising

of changes when advantageous to ourselves.

What could they have done better?

There's nothing that springs to mind. Any suggestions I have made at our meetings about his

business or service have been taken on board where circumstances have permitted.

Durham - June 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Annual review of pension and savings

How did Stephen help you?

Appraisal of current portfolio and changes since previous meeting. Advise based on my

needs. Very happy with service.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes very happy with advise and outcomes.

What could they have done better?

Nothing

Tyne & Wear - June 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

I lost my husband very suddenly, and had to deal with life insurance, compensation,

mortgages on my own with two children to look after.

How did Stephen help you?

Stephen was patient, helping me sort out where to put my money and how best to invest it.

He found me a suitable mortgage so I could move house. He's continued to advise me over

the years, with changes to my family circumstances.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes

What could they have done better? 

I'm ignorant about financial matters and I've always found Stephen to be honest and helpful,

not pushy, but sympathetic to my worries and needs.

Tyne & Wear - June 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Planning for retirement

How did Stephen help you?

He gave me straight forward advice and recommended the provider I am now using and very

happy with.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Obviously I would have liked higher growth but I think the fund I am with has performed well

under trying circumstances.

What could they have done better?

There is nothing I can think of that could have been improved

Tyne & Wear - June 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

Looking for early retirement options

How did Steven help you?

Sound financial advise and future planning

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Everything is on track as planned , the only issue which is out of our hands is uncertainty

over Brexit and caution regarding market conditions but long term confidence remains intact

What could they have done better?

I believe that we have received the best advice and nothing more is required regular review

does occur and reshaping any plans is discussed as required

Northumberland - May 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a financial adviser?

We’ve been clients of Explore for a number of years, seeking advice regarding our savings

leading towards eventual retirement

How did Steven help you?

At our annual review Steven showed us through using the software they have available how

our investments were doing and how that translated into our expected retirement dates.

Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?

Yes, throughout our time dealing with both Stephen Sumner and Steven Cattle we have been

kept totally up to date with how our investments are doing, in a jargon-free way. It is a

pleasure dealing with Steven and his colleagues.

Northumberland - April 2019

What were the circumstances that caused you to look for a Financial adviser?
Family circumstances meant that I wanted to find out how soon I could afford to retire, and what options were open to me in funding retirement.


How did Stephen Sumner help you?
Stephen is a very good listener. By the end of the initial (free) consultation I was sufficiently confident that he understood my financial situation, family situation, aspirations and character to accept his assessment that I could afford to retire in the near future; and subsequently to commission him to prepare a paid-for Retirement and Investment Planning Report. In turn, this report and the discussions that followed led me to engage Stephen as my IFA implementing the
agreed retirement and investment strategy. Stephen also hosted and participated in a meeting with my solicitor regarding inheritance planning.


What is your current situation? Have you seen the outcome you were hoping for?
Two years on I am very happy that the retirement strategy is working as hoped and predicted. I have opted for a drawdown pension and Stephen is proactive in keeping me informed about market trends that may have a bearing on the
performance of my underlying investments. He does not burden me with more information than I want, but either he or one of his team are always available to provide clarification or further detail if required, or ad hoc advice on other financial
matters.

What could they have done better?
Nothing to suggest.

Northumberland - November 2018

For more independent reviews of our services, visit our VouchedFor profile.